
LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING 
17373 PERKINS ROAD  

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70810 
PHONE: 225-755-7500 

 
INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION PACKET FOR  

APPROVAL TO ENROLL IN CLINICAL NURSES COURSES 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

• Louisiana Revised Statutes 37:911 et. Seq., provides for the regulation of students 
seeking permission to enroll in clinical nursing courses in nursing programs in Louisiana 
preparing candidates for Registered Nurse licensure.  Included in this authority is a 
criminal history record information check in accordance with R.S. 37:918 and 920.1., and 
is effective for students seeking admission for August 1, 2005 and thereafter. 

 
• Each student must submit the following to the program(s) to which they have been 

accepted:  
o Application for Approval to Enroll in Clinical Nursing Courses of the 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN);  
o Required documents noted on application;  
o Two (2) completed fingerprint cards (see fingerprint card instructions); 
o Authorization For  Criminal Background Check (CBC)*; and 
o Money order for $90.75 ($50.00 application fee , $40.75 CBC fee) made 

payable to the LSBN (fees are not refundable). 
 
NOTE: Forms are distributed by the School of Nursing to accepted students. 
 CBC cards are available at law enforcement agencies. 
     * Please copy each page of the Authorization for Criminal Background 
Check (CBC) form on front of separate page.  
 

• Resubmission of  Enrollment Application and fee are required if 
o Applicant enrolls in different school from original approval; or 
o Instructed by LSBN staff. 

 
NOTE:  New CBC packet and fee are not required unless requested by LSBN staff 
after receipt of application.  
 
REVIEW LSBN RULES AND REGULATIONS (website) – LAC46:XVLII.3331 
Denial or Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, or the Right to Practice Nursing as a 
Student Nurse to determine eligibility for approval for clinical and licensure in 
Louisiana. 
 

• Response from LSBN 
o Correspondence will be made to telephone number or sent to the e-mail and/or 

address on the application if other information is required.  
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o It is your responsibility to send change of phone/e-mail/address information in 
writing to LSBN. A form can be located on the website. 

Application to Enroll In Clinical  Nursing Courses 
• Each student must submit to the program to which they have been accepted, the 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing (LSBN) Application for Approval to Enroll in 
Clinical Nursing Courses in Louisiana. 

o This application is for students that have been accepted by approved nursing 
programs preparing candidates for registered nurse licensure and that have 
clinical practice in Louisiana. 

o Applications must be sent to LSBN from the School of Nursing and contain an 
approval signature of the Program Head.  

o Applications are to be submitted to LSBN 60 days prior to ENROLLMENT in 
clinical nursing courses (LAC46:XLVII.3324). 

o Students may not enroll in clinical course in Louisiana without approval   
      from the LSBN. 

• Applications must be complete  
o Read EVERY question carefully.  
o Items left blank will result in delay in processing application. 
o Failure to disclose criminal history as outlined on the application will result in 

delay in processing application and may result in a fine or denial for Falsification 
of Applications.  

o Failure to include ALL required documents for questions for which you answered 
“yes” will result in delay in processing application 

NOTE: If your institution requires you to send the information directly to the    
                   LSBN without the applications you MUST include the following: 

• Cover letter stating name, SS#, School of Nursing accepted, month 
and year to begin clinical, and reason for submitting information 

• You will receive a letter reflecting inactive status if not received by 
the time schools submits applications to LSBN. 

o Applications must be signed by Program Head.   
 

• Application for Approval must be submitted to the nursing program to which you 
are applying. 

o The application must be accompanied by a $50 money order made payable to the 
LSBN. 

o Required documentations for application questions for which you marked “yes” 
must accompany the application. 
 Documents or copies of received materials cannot be returned or 

forwarded to other agencies. 
o If you have applied with multiple nursing programs you MUST wait until you 

have been accepted to submit an application.    
*NOTE: Only ONE application can be processed. Duplicate applications 
for students that have applied to multiple schools will be held until the 
student provides documentation of acceptance from one of the programs 
for which they have submitted an application. 
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Criminal Background Check (CBC)  

 
APPLICATION FOR PERMISSION TO ENROLL IN CLINICAL NURSING COURSES 
MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY FINGERPRINT CARDS, AUTHORIZATION FORMS, 
AND FEE AS FOLLOWS: 
 

• Fingerprint  Cards, Authorization Forms and Fee must be submitted to the nursing 
program to which you are applying  

 
o The criminal history record information checks are authorized under the Nurse 

Practice Act, Louisiana Revised Statutes 37:920.1 and are required as part of the 
permission to enroll in clinical nursing courses process. 

 
o The permission to enroll may not be delayed awaiting these reports; however, 

future action may result if the criminal history record information so indicates. 
 

o Two (2) completed fingerprint cards, Authorization for Criminal 
Background Check (CBC) form must be submitted to the nursing office of 
the program to which you have been accepted; the program will submit the 
cards to the LSBN for processing. 

 
 Cards are available through law enforcement agencies. 
 Cards must be FBI approved. 
 Cards must have demographic information located on the front. 

 
o Complete and sign the Authorization for Criminal Background Check (CBC)   

* Please copy each page of the Authorization for Criminal 
Background Check (CBC) form on front of separate page.  
 

o All fingerprint cards must be filled out completely with the exception of the 
“employer and address” section.    

 
o Contact your campus security or local police/sheriff’s office, or an office of the 

state police to inquire about procedures for completion of fingerprint cards. They 
may specify a particular location, time and fee for fingerprinting.  

 
o Each of the two (2) FBI cards need a separate and distinct set of your fingerprints.  

If the agency utilizes an electronic scan system, request that they scan your 
fingerprints and print the first FBI card, then scan your fingerprints again and 
print the second FBI card.   

 
o If you’ve experienced problems in the past with fingerprinting or obtaining a CBC 

report, advise the officer/technician before they print you.  The following 
suggestions may improve print quality: 
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 Hands must be clean and dry.  Wash your hands vigorously with warm 
water and dry thoroughly immediately prior to being fingerprinted. 

 If hands are very dry or cracked, wash hands and apply a touch of 
moisturizer onto fingertips, removing any excess lotion with paper towel 
prior to being fingerprinted.  This may help raise the ridges for printing. 

 
o View both FBI cards before you leave the facility where you’re being 

fingerprinted. If any of the fingerprints are outside the boxes, appear too light, too 
dark or obviously smudged, have the technician prepare an extra set of cards and 
submit both sets with your application.   
 Protect both FBI cards from smudges.  Do not fold or staple. 
 LAC46:XLVII.3330.J-K states: 

J.  If the fingerprints are returned from the Department of Public Safety as 
inadequate or unreadable, the applicant, or licensee must submit a second set of 
fingerprints and fees, if applicable, for submission to the Department of Public 
Safety.  
 
K.  If the applicant or licensee fails to submit necessary information, fees, and/ 
or fingerprints, the applicant or licensee may be denied licensure on the basis of 
an incomplete application or, if licensed, denied renewal, until such time as the 
applicant or licensee submits the applicable documents and fee. 

 
o Return the two (2) completed cards, required fee and authorization forms to the 

office of your program head. Do not fold or staple the cards. 
 
o Fee for fingerprint record check is $40.75 by money order made payable to the 

Louisiana State Board of Nursing. 
 
 
 

ACTION OF THE LSBN RELATIVE TO CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT 
 
• Based on the criminal history record, the LSBN may approve the student to enroll  

in clinical nursing courses in accordance with the individual program guidelines or the 
LSBN may deny, delay, or otherwise restrict the enrollment of the student  in clinical 
nursing courses. 

• The individual student and the program head of the program(s) to which the student 
applied will be notified in writing of the decision of the Board. 

 
 

REVIEW LSBN RULES AND REGULATIONS (website) – LAC46:XVLII.3331 
Denial or Delay of Licensure, Reinstatement, or the Right to Practice Nursing as a 
Student Nurse to determine eligibility for approval for clinical and licensure in 
Louisiana. 
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REVIEW OF FEES 
 

• A fifty ($50) fee in the form of a money order made payable to the LSBN must 
accompany each Application for Approval to Enroll in Clinical Nursing Courses that you 
must submit to a nursing program. 

• A $40.75 fee in the form of a money order made payable to LSBN  must be submitted to 
the program along with two (2) completed fingerprint cards and a completed  
authorization to disclose form. 

• You may submit one money order of $90.75. 
 
 
 

SUMMARY  
 
Each applicant for enrollment in clinical nursing courses must submit the following forms 
and fees to the program where they have been accepted.  The nursing program forwards 
the forms and fees to the LSBN. 
 

• Completed Application for Approval to Enroll in a Clinical Nursing Course accompanied 
by a money order for $50 made payable to the LSBN (Required for each application 
submitted to a nursing program) 

• Completed fingerprint packet including 2 completed fingerprint cards with 2 separate and 
distinct set of prints (cards provided by the nursing program), authorization to disclose 
form for the LA Department of Public Safety, and Applicant Processing-Disclosure 
Bureau of Criminal Identification accompanied by a $40.75 money ordered made payable 
to “LSBN” 

• May submit one money order for a total of $90.75 made payable to “LSBN” 
• Incomplete Application Packets will not be processed 

o Applications will not processed and you will be notified that they are inactive if: 
 No or incorrect fee submitted 
 Application or CBC packet missing information 
 Application not approved by School of Nursing Designee  
 Required documents not attached  

• NOTE: If your institution requires you send the information 
directly to the LSBN without the applications: 

o Cover letter stating name, SS#, School of Nursing  
accepted, month and year to begin clinical, and reason for 
submitting information 

o You will be placed as inactive status if not received by the 
time application is ready for processing at LSBN 
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• Response from LSBN 
o Approval Status/Student Number is considered a licensure and can be verified at 

http://www.lsbn.state.la.us  under the Licensure tab using Name and Social 
Security. 

o Print verification and submit to school of nursing. 
o Correspondence will be sent to the postal and/or email address on applications 

requiring further information or evaluation. 
o Failure to respond to LSBN’s request by deadline on letter will result in 

inactivation of application.  
• It is your responsibility to notify LSBN  if : 

o change in contact information. A form can be located on the website.  
o you have withdrawn from a program.  
o you have a subsequent incident,  changes to any questions answers, changes in 

medication previously approved  taking. A disclosure form and Medical form can 
be found on the website. 
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