LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING EDUCATION COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 22, 2008

NOTICE

The Education Committee will meet on October 22, 2008 beginning at 1:00 p.m. at the offices of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing, 17373 Perkins Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70810

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Roll Call
- 3. Approval of Minutes of July 22, 2008
- 4. New Business
 - 4.1 Renewal of Approval of Panola College ADN Program to Conduct Clinical Offerings in Louisiana
 - 4.2 Nursing Shortage
 - 5. Old Business
 - 5.1 Policy on Conditional Approval for Programs in Nursing
 - 5.2 Request from Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing Related to Faculty Qualifications
 - 5.3 Nurse Refresher Courses
- 6. FYI
 - Theresa de Beche-Thibodeaux was appointed Nursing Program Director on July1, 2008 following the retirement of Bonnie Johnson.
 - Dr. Mary Stewart is no longer the Dean of the Fail School of Nursing at William Carey University and a search for a new dean is underway.
 - Dr. Randy Moffett, former President of Southeastern Louisiana University, has been appointed President of the University of Louisiana System effective July 3, 2008. Dr. John Crain, Provost and Vice-President of Academic Affairs, has been appointed as the Interim President.
 - Dr. David Manuel was appointed as Chancellor for Louisiana State University at Alexandria.
 - Our Lady of the Lake College Associate Degree in Nursing Program was Granted Continuing Accreditation by the National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission for eight years (Next Visit – Spring 2016).

- Phyllis Pederson, CRNA, MHS has been appointed to the permanent position of Director of the Master of Science in Nurse Anesthesia Program at Our Lady of the Lake College.
- Dr. Sharon Hutchinson has been appointed Chairperson for the Southern University and A&M College School of Nursing Graduate Programs in Nursing. She replaces Dr. Cheryl Taylor who served as Interim Chair.
- Ann H. Cary, PhD, MPH, RN, A-CCC has assumed the position of Director, School of Nursing at Loyola University New Orleans.
- Dr. Susan Hart was appointed as the Director of the ADN Program at Southwest Mississippi Community College following the retirement of Jane McGrew on June 30, 2008.
- Adrienne Bethancourt, DNS, RN was appointed as Dean of Nursing and Allied Health on August 1, 2008 at Fletcher Technical Community College following the resignation of Marcia Guidry.
- Notification was received from Southern University and A&M College School of Nursing of minor curriculum changes in the BSN Program.
- The School of Nursing at the University of Louisiana at Monroe has temporarily relocated due to extensive water damage during Hurricane Gustav.
- Dr. Raymond Gitz has been appointed to the position of Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs at Our Lady of Holy Cross College. Dr. Patricia M. Prechter's title has changed to Associate Vice President and Dean for Academic Affairs and Chair of Nursing and Allied Health.