# LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING 17373 PERKINS ROAD BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70810

#### MINUTES OF THE HEARING PANEL HELD ON WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 14, 2020

Call to Order:

The Hearing Panel of the Board of Nursing was called to order at 9:04 a.m. by L. Bonanno, Vice President, on Wednesday, October 14, 2020, via Microsoft Teams consisting of the members appointed by the Executive Director as authorized by La. R.S. 37:922. The State of Louisiana continues to operate under a state of public health emergency declared by the governor, as most recently renewed in Proclamations 110 JBE 2020 and 111 JBE 2020 (August 26, 2020). As a result, a traditional public meeting of the Board disciplinary panel would be detrimental to the health, safety, and welfare of the public. Board members will participate via Microsoft Teams due to COVID-19 Public Health Emergency during the public and executive sessions. Notice of same was posted on the LSBN website and in the LSBN building lobby. Public participation and viewing are available via Microsoft Teams. Public participation and viewing will not be available during any portion of the meeting held in executive session pursuant to La. R.S. 42:17.

**Roll Call:** 

The following Board members were in attendance:

Laura Bonanno, PhD, DNP, CRNA, Vice President Tavell Kindall, PhD, DNP, APRN, Alternate Officer

Tracey Moffatt, MHA, BSN, RN

Ann Carruth, DNS, RN

Jamie Wiggins, DNS-c, MS, RN, CCRN-K, NEA-BE, FACHE

Frederick Pinkney, Ed.D

The following staff members were in attendance:

Karen C. Lyon, PhD, MBA, APRN-CNS, NEABC, Executive

Director/Chief Executive Officer

Wanda Matthews, MPA, Chief Compliance Officer

Carrie LeBlanc Jones, JD, MBA, Chief Legal Officer/General Counsel

Lauren Reed, JD, Prosecuting Attorney

Geneva Carter, MSN, APRN, FNP, RN Compliance Officer Team Leader

Nichole Battle, MPA, Compliance Investigator Team Leader

Urhonda Beckwith, MSN, APRN, FNP, Director of RNP/Monitoring

Department

Lenora Thomas, MBA, Compliance Investigator

Reyna Witt, JD, Paralegal

Suzanne C. Armand, CCR, CVR, Court Reporter

### **Agenda Approval:**

Ms. Jones reported there were no changes to the Agenda.

**Motion:** by T. Kindall, seconded, to approve the Agenda as presented.

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes;

A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

**Motion**: by T. Moffatt, seconded, to authorize one panel member to approve the

minutes of today's Hearing Panel. T. Moffatt will review and approve.

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes;

A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

**Motion:** by T. Kindall, seconded, to go into Executive Session pursuant to La. R.S.

42:17 (1) to adjudicate scheduled cases and for reviewing consent orders, automatic suspensions and other disciplinary actions in the cases listed on

the Agenda.

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-

yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

## **CONSENT ORDERS**

The following Consent Orders went on record as presented:

#### **Nurse Practice Act Violations**

Jennifer Babin
Kimberly Frady
Brandin Lynn Frost
Landa Jean Gaddy
Nekissa Madeleine Hekmatdoost
Celeste Elizabeth Martin
Vonderrica Shyan Martin
Kristy Mitchell Sones

**Shartamia Rochelle Williams** 

Reinstatement

Elizabeth Miller Chapman Collette Chaumont George Debra Kelley Friedrich

#### **Students**

Marian Urelaine' Barnes Alexis Elizabeth Killingsworth

#### RATIFICATION OF AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS

The following Automatic Suspensions by staff were presented to the Board for ratification:

Brandi Mary Cedotal Kristian Ivan Dijamco Erin Janet Richard Tiffany A. Sepulvado Kacee Devin Woodard

## **RATIFICATION OF DELAY/DENIAL BY STAFF ACTION**

The following individuals were presented to the Board for ratification of delay/denial by staff action:

Leah Michelle Chapman Michael Hall Jr. Ania Johnson Mary Ann Lovely Haley Marie Meadors Julian Tyler Stephens

## **RATIFICATION OF MULTIPLE ACTIONS**

The following Multiple Actions were presented to the Board for ratification:

Michael Anthony Gierlings

**Kirby Gross** 

**Brandi Tassin Lepine** 

**Katherine Alexandra Taunton** 

Joshua Adam Young

**Motion**: by T. Kindall, seconded, to return to Open Session.

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes;

J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

Motion Carried

## ACTIONS ON DISCIPLINARY MATTERS HELD ON OCTOBER 14, 2020

#### **CONSENT ORDERS**

There were fourteen (14) matters considered by the Board as Consent Orders.

**Motion:** 

T. Moffatt, seconded, that the Board accept the Consent Orders for the following individuals:

#### **Nurse Practice Act Violations**

Jennifer Babin
Kimberly Frady
Brandin Lynn Frost
Landa Jean Gaddy
Nekissa Madeleine Hekmatdoost
Celeste Elizabeth Martin
Vonderrica Shyan Martin
Kristy Mitchell Sones
Shartamia Rochelle Williams

## Reinstatement

Elizabeth Miller Chapman Collette Chaumont George Debra Kelley Friedrich

#### **Students**

Marian Urelaine' Barnes Alexis Elizabeth Killingsworth

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

# **RATIFICATION OF AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS**

There were five (5) matters considered by the Board as Automatic Suspensions. W. Matthews' affidavits were introduced to support the position that these automatic suspensions were in order:

**Motion:** by J. Wiggins, seconded, that the Board accept the Automatic Suspensions on the following individuals:

Brandi Mary Cedotal Kristian Ivan Dijamco Erin Janet Richard Tiffany A. Sepulvado Kacee Devin Woodard

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

## **RATIFICATION OF DELAY/DENIAL BY STAFF ACTION**

There were six (6) matters heard before the Board as ratification of Delay/Denial by Board staff: C. Jones' affidavits were introduced to support that the delay/denials were in order.

**Motion:** 

by T. Kindall, seconded, that the Board ratify the Delay/Denial on the following individuals:

Leah Michelle Chapman Michael Hall Jr. Ania Johnson Mary Ann Lovely Haley Marie Meadors Julian Tyler Stephens

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

#### **RATIFICATION OF MULTIPLE ACTIONS**

There were five (5) matters considered by the Board as Multiple Actions:

**Motion:** by A. Carruth, seconded, that the Board ratify the Multiple Actions on the

following individuals:

Michael Anthony Gierlings Kirby Gross Brandi Tassin Lepine Katherine Alexandra Taunton Joshua Adam Young

Voice Vote; L. Bonanno-yes; T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Wiggins-yes; F. Pinkney-yes.

**Motion Carried** 

## **ADJOURNMENT:**

**Motion**: by L. Bonanno, seconded, to adjourn.

The Hearing Panel adjourned at 10:06 a.m.

L. BONANNO, VICE PRESIDENT LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING

Laur Stoner