# LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING 17373 PERKINS ROAD BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA 70810

## MINUTES OF THE HEARING PANEL HELD ON MONDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2022

Call to Order: The Hearing Panel of the Louisiana State Board of Nursing was called to

order at 2:35 p.m., immediately following the regularly scheduled board meeting, by T. Kindall, President, and Presiding Officer, on Monday, December 12, 2022, at the Louisiana State Board of Nursing, 17373

Perkins Road, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70810.

**Roll Call:** The following Board members were in attendance:

Tavell Kindall, PhD, DNP, APRN, FNP, President, and Presiding Officer

Tracey Moffatt, MHA, BSN, RN, Vice President

Jennifer Manning, DNS, APRN, CNS, CNE, Alternate Officer

Ann Carruth, DNS, RN Wendi Palermo, PhD, RN

Mimi Primeaux, MS, BSN, CRNA

The following staff members were in attendance:

Karen C. Lyon, PhD, MBA, APRN-CNS, NEA, Executive Director/CEO

Wanda Matthews, MPA, BBA, Chief Compliance Officer

Carrie LeBlanc Jones, JD, MBA, Chief Legal Officer/General Counsel

Lauren Papillion, JD, Chief Compliance Officer

Monique Calmes, DNP, APRN, FNPc, Chief Credentialing Officer

Urhonda Beckwith, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, RNP Director

Geneva Carter, MSN, APRN, RNCO-Team Leader

Donald Bowman, JD, Prosecuting Attorney Suzanne C. Armand, CCR, CVR, Court Reporter

Ms. C. Jones stated that there were no changes to the agenda.

**Motion:** by T. Moffatt, seconded, to approve the Agenda as presented.

There being no nays or abstentions, the motion carried.

**Motion**: by J. Manning, seconded, to authorize one panel member to approve the minutes of

today's Hearing Panel. J. Manning will review and approve.

There being no nays or abstentions, the motion carried.

**Motion:** by T. Moffatt, seconded, to go into Executive Session pursuant to La. R.S.

42:17(1) for the purpose of hearing those disciplinary matters and/or reviewing those consent orders, automatic suspensions and other disciplinary actions in the

cases listed on the Agenda.

There being no nays or abstentions, the motion carried.

#### **CONSENT ORDERS**

The following Consent Orders went on record as presented:

## **Nurse Practice Act Violations**

Rachelle Nicolle Black Chase Michael Broussard Brandy Meyung Galmon Amber Darlene Hudson Ella Douglas Kliebert Tamara Johnson Taylor

## Reinstatement

Desiree Anne Kennedy Nicholas Paul Vogel

#### **Students**

Nia Lawson Darreal Trotter

## REPORT OF AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS

The following Automatic Suspensions by staff were presented to the Board for ratification:

Sonya Slayton Doyle
Caitlyn Marie Duplessy
Thomas Timothy Franks
Mireya Garcia Gammage
Elisa Beatrice Guerrero
Kimberly Diane Harless
Vonzell Denopol Howard
Shannon Leonnie Youngblood

### RATIFICATION OF DELAY/DENIAL BY STAFF

The following delay/denials by staff were presented to the Board for ratification:

Amber Faye Nicole Godeaux Christopher Michael Lowery Charlotte Neely Chyna Nguyen Taylor Sherionna Vaughn

**Motion:** by W. Palermo, seconded, to return to Open Session.

There being no nays or abstentions, the motion carried.

#### **CONSENT ORDERS**

There were ten (10) matters considered by the Board as Consent Orders.

**Motion:** By T. Moffatt, seconded, that the Board accept the Consent Order for the

following individuals:

**Nurse Practice Act Violations** 

Rachelle Nicolle Black Chase Michael Broussard Brandy Meyung Galmon Amber Darlene Hudson Ella Douglas Kliebert Tamara Johnson Taylor

Reinstatement

Desiree Anne Kennedy Nicholas Paul Vogel

**Student** 

Nia Lawson Darreal Trotter

Voice Vote: T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Manning-yes; W. Palermo-yes; M. Primeaux-yes.

Motion Carried

#### RATIFICATION OF AUTOMATIC SUSPENSIONS:

There were eight (8) matters considered by the Board as ratification of Automatic Suspension by Board staff. W. Matthews' affidavits were introduced to support the position that these automatic suspensions were in order:

Motion: by J. Manning, seconded, that the Board ratify the Automatic Suspension on the

following individuals:

Sonya Slayton Doyle Caitlyn Marie Duplessy Thomas Timothy Franks Mireya Garcia Gammage Elisa Beatrice Guerrero Kimberly Diane Harless

# Vonzell Denopol Howard Shannon Leonnie Youngblood

Voice Vote: T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Manning-yes; W. Palermo-yes; M. Primeaux-yes.

#### Motion Carried

## RATIFICATION OF DELAY/DENIAL BY STAFF ACTION:

There were five (5) matters considered by the Board as Ratification of Delay/Denial by staff action. C. Jones' affidavits were introduced to support the position that these Delay/Denials were in order:

**Motion:** by M. Primeaux, that the Board ratify the Delay/Denial by staff action on the

following individuals:

Amber Faye Nicole Godeaux Christopher Michael Lowery Charlotte Neely Chyna Nguyen Taylor Sherionna Vaughn

Voice Vote: T. Kindall-yes; T. Moffatt-yes; A. Carruth-yes; J. Manning-yes; W. Palermo-yes; M. Primeaux-yes.

Motion Carried

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

**Motion**: by J. Manning, seconded, to adjourn.

The Hearing Panel adjourned at 3:05 p.m.

T. KINDALL, PRESIDENT, AND PRESIDING OFFICER

LOUISIANA STATE BOARD OF NURSING