Notice of Rulemaking Activity
The Louisiana State Board of Nursing in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:.918 is proposing rule changes that will add clarifying language to the definitions “revoke” and “suspend” in Chapter 34, Section 3405 of the administrative rules. This change may affect the licensure of Registered Nurses (RNs) and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs). Amendments to the definition of “revoke” include language allowing for the reinstatement of a revoked license 5 years after revocation of a license. The revised definition aligns with recent changes in Chapter 34, Section 3415 of the administrative rules, which modifies the reinstatement of licenses process for RNs and APRNs. The changes in Chapter 34, Section 3415 allow for the RN and/or the APRN to submit an application for the consideration of reinstatement by the board if his/ her license has been revoked. The rule changes to Chapter 34, Section 3415 were published in October 2018. Additionally, the proposed rule changes amend the definition of “suspend” regarding the licensure of RNs and APRNs, implementing a maximum cap on license suspensions of 3 years. Under the prior definition the LSBN could suspend licenses indefinitely. The revised definition further clarifies the limitations of practice of an RN or APRN under license
The first step in the rulemaking process is the publication of the Board's Notice of Intent in the October edition of the Louisiana Register. As of November 20, 2018, you will be able to access the publication free of charge at the state register's website athttp://www.doa.la.gov/osr. The Notice of Intent can be found here.
The Board requests to receive written comments on the proposed revisions by December 10, 2018.
Please direct all written communications regarding this proposal to my attention at the Board office.
For the Board
Karen C. Lyon, PhD, RN, NEA