Trouble viewing this email? Click here to view the message in a web browser window.

Notice of Rulemaking Activity

The Louisiana State Board of Nursing, in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority granted in R.S. 37:918, is proposing rule changes to Chapter 33, Sections §3333 and §3335. These revisions will clarify the licensure renewal and continuing education processes. The changes denoted in §3333 will require the nurse to pay bi-annual licensure renewal fees. Previously, the LSBN required the nurse to pay renewal fees on an annual basis. The bi-annual renewal process does not apply to the licensees who hold an active RN multi-state license in a compact state other than Louisiana exercising their privilege to practice. Other minor changes to §3333 are as follows: change of name, change of address, delineation of on-line application(s), referencing §3335 for continuing education and inactive or retiring a license(s). A retired license is considered an inactive license, therefore individuals with a retired license are not authorized to practice. In §3335, the full-time and part-time nursing practice definitions have been removed and the inactive licensure status and the nursing practice definitions have been amended. Also, the continuing education nursing board approved contact hour changes from 15 hours to 30 hours in order to align with the bi-annual renewal. National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) recognize practice hours along with board approved contact hours; therefore a minimum of 900 practice hours during the 2-year licensure period as verified by the employer will be accepted. If the continuing education requirements are not met, a warning will be provided and the licensee may be prohibited from renewing his/her license.

The first step in the rulemaking process is the publication of the Board's Notice of Intent in the November edition of the Louisiana Register. As of June 20, 2020, you will be able to access the publication free of charge at the state register's website at The Notice of Intent can be found here.

The Board requests to receive written comments on the proposed revisions by July 10, 2020.

Please direct all written communications regarding this proposal to my attention at the Board office.

For the Board
Karen C. Lyon, PhD, RN, NEA
Executive Director