1975), repromulgated LR 5:79 (April 1979), amended by the Office
of the Governor, Office of Facility Planning and Confrol, LR
45:1200 (September 2019).

Mark A. Moses

Director
19094008

RULE

Department of Health
Board of Nursing

Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
(LAC 46: XLVIL.Chapter 45)

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative
Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and through the authority
granted in R.S. 37:917-918, the Louisiana State Board of
Nursing (LSBN) has amended Title 46, Professional and
Occupational Standards, Part XLVII Chapter 45, Advanced
Practice Registered Nurses §4507 Licensure as Advanced
Practice Registered Nurse and §4513 Authorized Practice
and §4516 Continuing Education Requirement for APRNs
Prescribing Controlled Substances. This Rule provides for
revisions to Chapter 45 to comply with §978.3 (“Continuing
education for the prescribing of controlled substances™) in
Section 2 of Act 76 of Louisiana’s 2017 regular legislative
session. Act 76 mandates that prescribers of controlled
substances in Louisiana with a CDS license must obtain
three credit hours of continuing education (CE) as a
prerequisite of license renewal. Content of the CE must
include drug diversion training, best practices for the
prescribing of controlled substances, appropriate treatment
for addiction, and any other content deemed appropriate by
the regulatory agency. This is a one-time requirement under
Act 76. CEs obtained for this purpose may be utilized to
meet the usual CE requirements of the agency. Currently,
APRNs with prescriptive authority have an annual CE
requirement as do grandfathered APRNs upon renewal of
licensure under commensurate requirements.

In addition, a clarification to Chapter 45 that the practice
requirement for renewal for grandfathered APRNs be
aligned to consider the newly implemented biennial renewal
in that the practice requirement is annual rather than the
previous language of “within a 12 month period”.

Three technical changes to clarify references to citations
including LAC 46:XLVIL 4507.A.1.b.h, which references
LAC 46:XLVIL4507.A.1.a—d and should be revised to refer
to LAC 46:XLVI.4507.A.1.a—e. Previous rule changes
published in 2016 resulted in renumbering of sections of
§4507 that inadvertently were not adjusted in subsequent
sections. Prior to 2016, §4507.A.l.a~d referred to and
required national certification to be licensed as an APRN in
an additional specialty, thus the revised reference includes
§4507.A.l.a-e in order to include national certification,
Secondly, LAC 46:XLVII.4507.D.1.c. which references
LAC 46:XI.VIL4507.A.1.b and d and should be revised to
refer to LAC 46:XLVIL.4507.A.1.e and e. Previous rule
changes published in 2016 resulted in renumbering of
sections of §4507 that inadveriently were not adjusted in
subsequent sections. Prior to 2016, $4507.A.1.b and d
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referred to and required national certification to be licensed
as an APRN via endorsement, thus the revised reference
includes §4507.A.1.b and ¢ in order to include national
certification. Thirdly, LAC 46:XLVIL4507.F2. which
references Subparagraphs Fl.a; b; and e and should be
revised to refer to Subparagraphs F.1.a., ¢; and e. Prior to
2016, $4507.F.1.a, b, and e referred to and required national
certification to be licensed as an APRN via reinstatement,
thus the revised reference includes §4507.Fl.a, ¢, and e in
order to include national certification. In summary, all
technical changes clarify the reference to and inadvertent
omission of the previous and ongoing requirement for
national certification when APRNS are applying for licensure
in an additional specialty, for reinstatement, and for
endorsement. This Ruie is hereby adopted on the day of
promulgation.
Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS
Part XLVIIL. Nurses: Practical Nurses and Registered
Nurses
Subpart 2, Registered Nurses

Chapter 45.  Advanced Practice Registered Nurses
§4507. Licensure as Advanced Practice Registered
Nurse

A, [Initial Licensure

I. The applicant shall meet the following
requirements:

a-g ..

h. after initial licensure, applicants seeking

licensure for advanced practice in an additional specialty
and/or functional role shall meet the requirements stated in
LAC 46:XLVIL4507 A.l.a.-e;

Ali-C4, ...

D. Temporary Permit: Endorsement Applicants

1.~ 1Lb.

c. evidence of meeting the educational and
certification requirements specified in LAC 46:XLVIL4507.
A.l.band e; or

2.-3. ..

E. Renewal of Licenses
Commensurate Requirements

1.-2. ...

4. a minimum of 300 hours of practice annually in
advanced practice registered nursing, as defined in R.S.
37:913.a,; and

2b.-4.

F. Reinstatement of an APRN License

l.-le ..

2. Reinstatement of an APRN license for an applicant
seeking to meet §4507.F.1.c or d, in addition to meeting the
above requirements in Subparagraphs Fi.c, and e, the
applicant shall;

2a.-4. ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 22:281 (April 1996),
amended LR 27:724 (May 20001), LR 29:580 {April 2003), LR
31:1340 (Junc 2005), LR 31:2015 (August 2003), LR 32:247
(February 2006}, LR 37:3027 (October 2011), LR 40:61 {January
2014), LR 42:406 (March 2016), LR 45:1201 (September 2019).

by  Cernification or
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§4513. Authorized Practice

A -D2av ..

b. Controlled Substances, The board may authorize
an APRN with prescriptive authority to prescribe or
distribute controlled substances as defined, enumerated or
included in federal or state statues or regulations 21 CFR
1308.11-15, R.S, 40:964, on an individual practice basis.
Upon initial application with the board and request for
approval to prescribe controlled substances, the APRN must
provide evidence of successful completion of three hours of
continuing education approved by the board on controlled
substance prescribing practices as delineated in LAC
46:XLVIL4516. Such board approved continuing education
shall include instruction relating to drug diversion training,
best practices regarding prescribing of controlled substances,
and appropriate treatment for addiction. An APRN who is so
authorized  shall provide their Drug Enforcement
Administration registration number on all written, electronic,
oral, or faxed prescriptions for controlled substances and
shall comply with all scheduled drug prescription
requirements in accordance with LAC 46:LII1.2511:

2bi.-5.d. ...

6. Continued Competency for Prescriptive Authority.
Each year an APRN with prescriptive authority shall obtain
six contact hours of continuing education in
pharmacotherapeutics in their advanced nursing role and
population foci. Documentation of completion of the
continuing education contact hours required for prescriptive
authority shall be submitted at the request of the board in a
random audit procedure at the time of the APRN’s license
renewal. Continuing education completed to meet the
requirements of LAC 46:XLVIL4516, Continuing Education
Requirement for APRNs Prescribing Controlled Substances,
shall be applied to the aforementioned required continuing
education related to Continued Competency for Prescriptive
Authority for the vear in which the continuing education
related to controlled substance prescribing was completed.
In order for the continuing education program to be
approved by the board, the program shall:

Ga.-17b ..

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:918(K) and R.8. 37:1031-1034.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department  of
Health and Human Resources, Board of Nursing, LR 10:598
(August 1984), amended by the Department of Health and
Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR 22:283 (April 1996), amended by
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing and
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 22:98] (October 1996), LR
25:1245 (July 1999}, LR), amended by the Depariment of Health
and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, 27:727 (May 2001}, amended by
the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Nursing and
Board of Medical Examiners, LR 28:487 {(March 2002),
repromulgated LR 28:1205 (Junc 2002), amended by the
Department of Heaith and Hospitals, Board of Nursing, LR
31:2023 {August 2005), LR 33:1870 {September 2007), LR 40:63
(January 2014), LR 4(:2249 (November 2014), LR 42:572 (April
2016), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Nursing,
LR 44:276 (February 2018), LR 45:1202 (September 2019).
§4516. Continuing Education Requirement for APRNs

Prescribing Controlled Substances.

A. Every APRN with both active prescriptive authority
and who holds an active controlled dangerous substance
{CDS) license prior o promulgation of this section and who
is seeking the renewal of the APRN license and renewal of
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the prescriptive authority credential, shall, as part of the
continuing education required by this Part, and as a one-time
prerequisite to licensure renewal, successfully complete
three hours of continuing education approved by the board
on controlled substance prescribing practices. After
promulgation of this section, successful completion of three
hours of continuing education approved by the board on
controlled substance prescribing practices shall be provided
upon application and request for approval for controlled
substance privileges with the board and will meet the
requirements for subsequent renewal relative to controlled
substance prescribing. Such continuing education shall
include instruction relating to drug diversion training, best
practices regarding prescribing of controlled substances, and
appropriate treatment for addiction. The continuing
education requirement may be satisfied by completing a
three-hour continuing education program, three one-hour
continuing education programs, or any other combination of
continuing education programs totaling three hours.

B. Approved Continuing Education. In order for the
continuing education program to be approved by the board,
the program shall:

1. be provided by a board approved national certifying
body, a board approved accrediting organization, a provider
approved by the board, or be provided by the board;

2. adequately address the topics of required
instruction at the advanced practice level with the focus and
objectives of the continuing education program on content
relevant to drug diversion training, best practices regarding
prescribing of controlled substances, and appropriate
treatment for addiction;

C. Documentation,

1. Continuing education certificate(s) must be
provided as evidence of completion of the program(s) and as
requested by the board. The certificate must contain:

a. title of the continuing education program;

b. quantification of credit hours awarded;

¢. attendee’s name,

d. date(s) of continuing education program;

€. name of accrediting organization, certifying
body, or approved provider; and

f.  sponsoring organization (if applicable)

2. Information on how to access approved, qualifying
continuing education courses will be maintained by the
board and made available on its website.

D. Noncompliance. The license of an APRN:

1. Who fails to comply with the continuing education
requirement of this part shall not be renewed by the board,
and the RN and APRN licenses and prescriptive authority
credential shall become inactive. The individual will not be
authorized to practice and prescribe until the licenses and
prescriptive authority have been reinstated;

2, Which has not been renewed for failure to satisfy
the continuing education requirement, may be reinstated
upon application for reinstatement submitted to the board, in
addition to all applicable fees and costs, and evidence of
completion of the continuing education required by this
section,

E. Exception. An APRN renewing his/her license may be
exempt from the continuing education requirement upon the
submission of certification, in a form and manner specified
by the board, attesting that hefshe has not prescribed,



administered or dispensed any controlled substance during
the entire period covered by the APRN’s expiring APRN
license. The certification shall be verified by the board
through the Louisiana Prescription Monitoring Program Act,
R.5. 40:1001 et seq. An exempted individual who
subsequently prescribes, administers or dispenses any
controlled substance shall satisfy the continuing education
requirement as a condition to license renewal for the renewal
period immediately following that in which the controlled
substance was prescribed, administered or dispensed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgaied in accordance with R.S.
37:918(K} and R.S. 37:1031-1034.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health, Board of Nursing, LR 45:1202 (September 2019).

Dr, Karen C. Lyon

Executive Director
19094019

RULE

Department of Health
Bureau of Health Services Financing

Termination of Radiology Utilization Management Services
(LAC 50:V.6105 and XIX.4501)

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services
Financing has repealed LAC 50:V.6105 and XIX.4501 in the
Medical Assistance Program as authorized by R.5. 36:254
and pursuant to Title XIX of the Social Security Act. This
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the
Administrative Procedure Act, R. S. 49:950, et seq. This
Rule is hereby adopted on the day of prormulgation,

Title 50
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Part V. Hospital Services
Subpart 5. Qutpatient Hospital Services
Chapter 61.  Other Qutpatient Hospital Services
Subchapter A. General Provisions
§6105. Radiology Utilization Management

Repealed,

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR
36:67 (January 2010), amended LR 36:1782 (August 2010y,
repealed by Department of Health, Burcau of Health Services
Financing, LR 451203 (September 2019).,

Part XIX. Other Services
Subpart 3. Laboratory and Radiology Services
Chapter 45.  Radiology Utilization Management
§4501. General Provisions

Repealed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of
Health and Hospitals, Bureau of Health Services Financing, LR
35:2758 (December 2009), amended LR 36:1781 (August 20103,
repealed by Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services
Financing, LR 45:1203 (September 2019).

1203

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that
submission to CMS for review and approval is required.

Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH

Secretary
19094071

RULE

Department of Health
Licensed Professional Counselors
Board of Examiners

Definitions, Requirements, and Clarification
(LAC 46:1.X.3105 and Chapter 33)

In accordance with the applicable provisions of the
Louisiana Administrative Procedures Act (R.5.49:950 et
seq.) and through the authority of the Mental Health
Counselor Licensing Act (R.S. 37:1101 et seq.), the
Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of
Examiners amends definitions, supervisor requirements and
academic requirements.

The Louisiana Licensed Professional Counselors Board of
Examiners hereby amends chapters 31 and 33 for
publication in the September 20, 2019 edition of the
Louisiana Register. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day
of promulgation,

Title 46
PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL
STANDARDS REVISED
Part LX. Licensed Professional Counselors Board of
Examiners
Subpart 2. Professional Standards for Licensed
Marriage and Family Therapists and Provisional
Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists
Chapter 31.  License of Title for Marriage and Family
Therapy
§3105. Definitions for Licensed Marriage and Family
Therapists and Provisional Licensed Marriage
and Family Therapists

Active Supervision—the process by which a supervisee
receives one hour of face-to-face supervision with his/her
board-approved supervisor for every 20 hours of direct client
contact. The supervisor and supervisee must meet at least
one hour within a three-month period. Active Supervision is
based on direct client contact hours. Supervision hours shall
be adjusted if the PLMFT has less than 20 hours of direct
contact, or more than 20 hours of direct client contact.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S.
37:1101-1123,

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by (he Department  of
Healih and Hospitals, Licensed Professional Counsclors Board of
Examiners, LR 29:154 (February 2003), amended LR 29:2784
{December 2003), LR 41:741 (April 2015), amended by the
Depariment of Health, Licensed Professional Counselors Board of
Examiners, LR 43:1981 {Oclober 2017), LR 45:1203 {September
2019).
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